2019 Film Series Winners

The Film Series at Cine Gear Expo – A Tribute to the Visual Art of Filmmaking Salutes the Winners of its 2019 Film Series Competition.

Congratulations to all of the competitors of our Film Series at Cine Gear Expo 2019. Submissions came from far and wide as well as from our own backyard of Southern California.

In its 23rd year, Cine Gear Expo has proudly awarded filmmakers of the Student Short Film, Independent Short Film, and Commercial and Music Video competitions some of the finest prize packages found in the film festival competition circuit.

We’d like to express our sincere gratitude to Amy Vincent, ASC, Steven Fierberg, ASC, Quyen Tran, and Mark Van Horne for their time and thoughtful consideration as jury panelists for the Film Series this year. We value their contribution to awarding excellence in emerging filmmaking. It was wonderful working with them.

Special Thanks to our generous Film Series Prize Sponsors who contributed thousands in production prizes.

  • ARRI
  • Atomos
  • Blackmagic Design
  • Chapman-Leonard
  • Cushlight
  • Duclos Lenses
  • EditShare
  • Filmtools
  • IDX
  • Infinity Photo-Optical
  • InkTip
  • Kingston Technology
  • Kitsplit
  • Lacie
  • Ledgo
  • Lindsey Optics
  • Litegear
  • Litra
  • Magic Gadgets
  • Manfrotto
  • Mole-Richardson
  • On Set Headsets
  • Profound
  • Quasar Science, LLC
  • Secure Data
  • Sennheiser
  • SKB
  • Technocrane
  • TVLogic
  • Wooden Camera
  • 411


Student Short Film

Director: Jeremy Merrifield
Writers: Jeremy Merrifield & Dave Testa
Producers: Christina Cha, Kate Chamuris, Alex Peurye
Executive Producer: Michael James Scott
Cinematographer: Frances Kroon,
Production Design: Jerry Marsini,
Editor: Bowei Yue
Composer: Ali Helnwein
Sound Designer: D. Chris Smith

Independent Short Film

Judas Collar 
Director: Alison James
Director of Photography: Michael McDermott
Producer: Brooke Tia Silcox

Commercial and Music Video

Hermitude - Everyday 
Director: Nathan Presley
Producer: Jade Risser
Dancer: Courthey Campbell
Cinematographer: Nathan Presley
Production Company: Fall Out Entertainment
AC:  Rob Medley
Editor & Colorist: Nathan Presley

Film Series Jury Panel Special Mention

Shoe Shiner
Director-Writer: Andrés Gallegos
Producers: Constanza Hevia, Shaira Abraham
Production Designer: Erika Pulgar
Cinematographer: Andrés Gallegos
Composer: Jorge Aliago