Film Series Finalists

The Film Series at Cine Gear Expo

A Tribute to the Visual Art of Filmmaking will comprise screenings of films based on their illumination of the visual art forms in filmmaking, such as cinematography, art design, set and costume design, and will also feature a Student Short Film Competition, the Independent Short Film Competition, and the Music Video and Commercial Competition. The winner in each category will receive one of the Production Prize Packages.

The visual art forms of filmmaking are as integral to a film as the script, direction and performances. Cine Gear Expo’s mission has always been to serve this community of film and video industry professionals by providing them the opportunity to see the newest, cutting-edge equipment; to learn about new production services; and, to catch up with peers in a relaxing and social environment. “We feel that it is a natural evolution for Cine Gear Expo to introduce a Film Series and Film Competition to honor these artisans and technicians,” explains Karl Kresser, President of Cine Gear Expo. “We are receiving a tremendous amount of enthusiasm and support from the industry, and look forward to establishing The Film Series as a permanent part of Cine Gear Expo.”

8 Indy Short Finalists

Director: Jordan Bahat

Stars -
Writer/Director: Krista Vernoff
Director of Photography: Andrew Wheeler
Producers:  Kristen Alcala, Alice Dennard, Kiley Donovan, Michael Medicos

Damage Control -
Director: Samuel Bartlett

Catch -
Director: Jeremy Glaholt
Director of Photography: Jeremy Glaholt

Code Blue: A Love Story -
Director: Susan Dynner
Producers: Lisa Barrett McGuire, Susan Dynner, Jack Grisham
Writer: Jack Grisham
Director of Photography: Pawel Pogorzelski
Editor: Patrick Nelson Barnes

Kingsland -
Director: Jake Gabbay
Director of Photography: Jake Gabbay
Producer: Tom Gabbay
Executive Producer: Bill Furman

Evelyn -
Director: Farzad Ostovarzadeh
DP: Dennis Zanatta
Producer: Hind Albasti
Editor: Elika Rezaee

Directors: Michael Alden Lloyd & Matthew Fisher
Director of Photography: Michael Alden Lloyd
Produced By: Michael Alden Lloyd
Co-Producers: Lauren Ciell, Thoromor Jonsson, & Beggi Jonsson
Executive Producer: Jon Wanzek
Co-Executive Producers: Jeff Nicholas & Jonathan Craven

Purchase screening tickets in our online store

8 Commercials / Music Video Finalists

Heave Away (aka The Scrimshaw Blues) by Blackwater Jukebox -
Director: Jorge Olortegui
Director of Photography: Jorge Olortegui
Producer: Jorge Olortegui
Blackwater Jukebox: Geordie McElroy, Heather Cano, Jonathan Soucy, Scott Keil, Leif Bunting
Real State Agent: Kelly Sitek
Production Assistance: Christian Vinces
Additional Make Up: Victoria Elizabeth
Additional Set Design: Donna Suppipat

Oakley "Time Bomb" - 
Director: Jeff Jingle

The Power Of One -
Director: Michael Delorenzo
Director of Photography: Armando Acevedo
Artist: Mendoza
Executive producer and producers: Mauricio Mendoza, Yeniffer Behrens, Miguel Torres, Michael Delorenzo, Dewayne Cox 

The Integritas Project, "Freedom" -
Director: Patrick Finnegan
Director Of Photography: Bill Bennet
Producer: Kari Albert

My Friend Sin -
Director: Mike Sanchez
Cinematographer: Ama MacDonald
Producer/Art Director: Suzi Sanchez
Producer/ Music Composer: Robert Davis
Executive Producer: Phil Barnes

Fool Proof -
Director: Ryan Postas

Something in the Water -
Director/DoP: Alejandro Lainde
Producers: Alejandro Lainde, Genta Carter, Tamara Rhods

Integritas Project, "Isn't Enough" -
Director: Patrick Finnegan
Director Of Photography: Chris Robertson
Producer: Kari Albert


7 Student Short Finalists

Starman - School: AFI
Director: Josema Roig
Producer: Jo Henriquez
Cinematographer: Nico Navia
Editor: Steven Pristin

Breathe - School: American Film Institute (AFI) Conservatory
Director: Paul Kowalski
Simu Feng: Director of Photography
Producer: Christina Dow

At Ease - School: Savannah College of Art and Design
Director: Jacob Kirby
Producers: Matt Scruggs and Taylor Macdonald
Cinematographer: Ben Joyner

This Way Up - School: AFI
Director: Jeremy Cloe
Producer: Mike Langer
Cinematographer: Cory C. Warner
Editor: Steven Pristin

[solitary] - School: American Film Institute Conservatory
Director: Derek J. Pastuszek
Producers: Cédric Gamelin, Fabrizio Muscia, Halee Bernard
Director of Photography: Shadi Chaaban

Pete the Pilot - School: College of Southern Nevada
Director: Dontaé Carter
Director of Photography: Dontaé Carter
Producer: Dontaé Carter

Fata Morgana - School: American Film Institute
Director: Amelie Wen