Independent Shorts

Judge Award and Audience Award

Second Team

Director: Ria Pavia
Writer: Anni Weisband
Producers: Robert E. Arnold, Anni Weisband, Mayon Denton, Julia Balayan
Director of Photography: Robert E. Arnold

Music Videos / Commercials

Judge Award

Nice Shoes

Director: Jonathan Lawrence
Writer and Producer: Tommy Mack
Director of Photography: Jonathan Lawrence

Honorable Mention

Oo La La

Director/Writer/Producer: Frank Rogala

Audience Award


Director/Writer: Carissa Dorson
Producers: Jacob Rosenthal, Shane Spiegel
Director of Photography: Carissa Dorson

Student Short Films

Judge Award

Furthest From

Director: Kyung Sok Kim
Writer/Producer: Rex Reyes II
Director of Photography: Teck Siang Lim
School: AFI Conservatory

Audience Award

Tree #3

Director: Omer Ben-Shachar
Writers: Omer Ben-Shachar, Sydney Meadow
Producer: Iris Yang
Director of Photography: Zilong Liu
School: AFI Conservatory 

Gabriel Mays

AbelCine Director of Rental
As Director of Rental, Gabriel Mays oversees growth of Rental by nurturing business relationships and unifying the customer experience nationwide. In his previous role as the LA Rental Manager, Gabriel worked with producers, cinematographers, and assistant camera operators to provide the highest level of customer service possible. He also ensured that all their equipment needs are met on budget. Before coming to AbelCine in 2015, Gabriel previously worked as a Communications Instructor and Electronic Media Engineer at a private university. He taught various courses in electronic media, including film, broadcasting, and digital arts. Gabriel is an award-winning cinematographer, director, producer, and editor known for his innovative research and implementation of new film techniques. He was also one of the first to implement HDSLR cameras into filmmaking. He has been the cinematographer on dozens of independent films, documentaries, and music videos.